The Latest in the Point Five Project – An Empowering Statement

by diamondstoglass

Ola

It feels incredibly weird to be in front of the camera rather than behind it because I’ve been a photographer since the time I was 13 years old. I remember being enchanted by the wonderful photos I would see plastered all over blog pages of gorgeous, svelte girls with flawless faces. The conceptual shots were the ones that spoke most to me, and I came up with my own concepts that I knew needed illustration, so I picked up a camera and went out to the world. I’ve been photoshopping since 13 too, so even though I know just how magical – and terrifying – the software is, I’ve still had my fair share of image issues. I’m not going to lie, when I take photos, I retouch them just like all the magazines do – airbrushing and all. That’s what people want. They want to be flawless and frozen in time, because that’s what society tells them to be. They’re supposed to be beautiful and thin and flawless because otherwise, they won’t belong. They’ll be ostracized, and that goes against the very core of our human psyche – our need to belong.

You know what? Makeup is like the “real world” version of Photoshop. Use the correct technique to blend your cover up and powder and you can make your blemishes disappear. Understand bronzer and highlights? Make your cheekbones appear to pierce through your skin and make your nose sharp and svelte. Understand colors and eyeshadow? Make your eyes appear to be twice their normal size. Use the creams and powders and liners correctly, and you can be flawless. You can be flawless and you can belong.

However, I wear makeup for me. I don’t wear it for society. I wear it for me because I like to play around and accentuate my big, wide-set eyes and my pixie nose. I like how artistic the process is – applying basecoats of certain products and blending colors together to create a product that appeals to the human aesthetic. It’s an undeniable art, and my face is my canvas. Society – and the media – may dictate that we need to be perfect and flawless, but I dictate that I want to show my best face to the world – and whether that face be in full makeup or merely in subtle hints of a few products – and be proud of who I am, “flawless” or not.

-Ola

